top of page

Solitude.


A lot of people think traveling alone is scary, dangerous, daunting, whatever bad adjective you can use to describe it. All of which are reasons you may not choose to travel by yourself. Others prefer it, and cannot imagine traveling any other way. I frequently travel by myself, both domestically and internationally, usually by necessity and not by choice. But this is mostly because of my own flexible schedule and being an independent person. Traveling alone has been one of the most rewarding experiences, but sometimes it makes for some interesting experiences and realizations. Here's a few of the things I've discovered while traveling by myself.

1) Locals are more (or sometimes less) likely to speak to you

As a traveler, it's pretty common to be less intimidated by a single person than a large group of people when you are trying to ask someone a question, especially if the people might speak a different language. Locals always seem to be very curious about why I am here, where I come from, and are willing to ask me these questions. But at the same time, because I travel alone, I think I am also able to blend in as a local and people let me be and carry on my way. Americans are often characterized as "loud," but without others accompanying me locals are less likely to assume my nationality and view me as an outsider.

2) Travel Freedom

When it's just you, you can travel on your own schedule. You don't have to worry about coordinating a meeting place, someone complaining about all the walking, or disagreeing about the food or visiting sites you choose. You won't be expected to compromise on what you want to see, do, or eat. And if you happen to, let's say, hop on the metro the wrong direction, there's no one to get mad at you (Yes, I've done this a few times traveling alone). But, sometimes getting lost uncovers new places or helps you learn how to navigate a city. Americans tend to be so much more "on the go" than Italians, and more punctual might I add. There's always somewhere to be or someone to meet, all at a certain time. But by traveling by myself and without commitments and time restraints, I am free to take as long as I want to get somewhere or make stops along the way.

3) You Gain a Deeper Understanding of Your Destination

Having to navigate the city all by myself truly makes me learn the city I am visiting; it's said that we learn best by doing. Plus, when you're by yourself you are able to stop and smell the roses, taking in every bit of your surroundings - the smells, tastes, sounds, and little quirks that you might otherwise miss while chatting with a traveling buddy. You get a more genuine experience of the culture, from strangers, authentic dinner invites, and deeper conversations. Every person I meet teaches me something new, and they can direct all their attention to me because I am not traveling with other people.

4) Alone Time is Healthy

Spending time alone forces you to reflect on your current life. You learn about your daily habits, what is important to you, what your strengths and weakness are. You learn to be comfortable with yourself and embrace your body, mind, and spirit as it is; becoming more self-aware through the process. You learn to get out of your comfort zone.

5) Alone Time Makes you Appreciate People Back Home

I'm a very independent person and tend to keep to myself, but I've always had activities, work, class, or family to still connect with people. With differing schedules, I've often been left alone in Italy and it makes me miss friends, family, and general human connection back home. Being in a new place, often alone, and not speaking the local language has certainly made for some lonesome times. On the days I am finished teaching lessons, I have been staying after in the Teacher's Room just so that I can be surrounded by people even if they don't all speak my language. (For some context, in Italy, teachers don't have lessons every hour of the day, so sometimes I am finished at 11am, but other classes continue until 2pm). College is a bubble where maintaining friendships and seeing people is so convenient, so there's always someone nearby.

6) Blonde Obsession

I think in some parts of Europe, blondes are a bit rare, and so some men are very attracted to blonde females. When I traveled to Brussels, I went to a famous bar that was recommended to me - Delirium Tremens Cafe. I was minding my own business ordering a beer and tried to pay for my beer, but in Europe you can't start a tab with a credit card like you can in America. With an impatient bartender screaming 5 minimum at me, a man came up behind me and said "don't worry, I'll buy it." Turns out, this man was Italian and told me that he approached me at the bar simply because I was blonde. It's a stereotype that Italian men are obsessed with blonde women. Obviously this depends on the man's preference, but I have on more than one occasion, had people talk to me or buy me drinks or dinner just because of my hair color, and they were maybe willing to approach me because I was alone.

7) Europeans think American/English Speaking People Don't Care about other Languages

Italians are more frank and blatant than most Americans, so they are not afraid to tell you their opinion or point something out; for example, if you're too fat, you're stupid, you have something in your teeth, etc. Multiples times, people tell me that they think Americans and English people are rude and "do not care about learning other languages because English is superior and used everywhere." Again, I think I'm an easier target for this complaint because I am a solo traveler. But then I have to explain and defend myself - I love languages, I appreciate them, and traveling (especially alone when it would be useful to know the language in my destination) always makes me wish I was multi-lingual. Learning a language is not easy, and it gets harder the older you get. I highly respect people who know other languages. I wish I started when I was younger, at the optimal time to learn multiple languages. I wish I was forced to speak the language I was learning, instead of relying on English all the time. I am frequently asked about my students English level, but who am I to judge someone's ability when I cannot speak another language myself? I came across this video recently and find it very relevant to my experiences while I travel.

8) You Become an Expert Problem Solver & Logistics Guru

When you travel with others, when things don't go as planned you have other people to either take the lead or at least brainstorm how to solve the problem. When you're alone, everything falls on your shoulders. In the past, I've sought advice from other people, and now I've realized I am capable of figuring things out on my own. Granted, being 6 hours ahead of most of the people who would usually help me means they aren't always awake to help me even if they wanted to. The key to most situations is being open-minded and adapting. And when you're by yourself, it's your responsibility to do all the planning for your trips; which flights, how are you getting to and from the airport, where are you staying, and choosing and navigating to what you want to see or do, etc.

9) You Have a Bigger Appreciation for What you Have

It's been so cold in Turin (and when I was visiting Amsterdam the canals were frozen it was so cold) that I definitely appreciate American heating systems and the sunshine and beaches in Florida and Long Island. Heaters here do not radiate heat as far as the ones in America. They also don't have dryers so I can't just throw some clothes or towels in the dryer so they've be warm when I want to wear them. I'm used to eating salmon and seafood, but it's usually readily available and good quality because we have the Atlantic Ocean so close wherever I am on the East Coast.

10) You Learn to "Go with the Flow"

There's bound to be hiccups when you're traveling by yourself - you miss a flight, have to bike home in downpouring rain, or you order something that is different than you expected. (P.S. do not order BBQ sauce in another country if you are used to American bbq sauce...it will never be the same) You learn to just laugh these things off and accept difficulties as they as, learning from things that are mistakes or not letting struggles affect your mood. Dealing with these types of situations has made me much more flexible. And I've often aimlessly walked around or hopped on the wrong bus to an discover an unexpectedly amazing view.

11) Just keep walking..walking..walking

In America, everything is so far away that you pretty much have to drive everywhere. In Europe, you can bike and walk pretty much everywhere and you are able to see so much more of the place. I was told to get a tram card when I arrived in Amsterdam, but I ended up not acting on this advice and walked everywhere! If the Google Maps told me it would take the same amount of time to walk as public transport, I'd just walk. I learned to navigate the city better and I got my exercise in for the day. Public transportation is generally more reliable and efficient in Europe so it is a solid option, too.

12) You can be Stingy

Everyone thinks because I'm traveling, oh I must have a lot of money. I work hard for my money and most of what I earn actually goes to pay my student loans, and with what I have left I choose to put towards travel because traveling makes me happy. I'm selective of what and how many places I visit, and I'm very cost conscious by doing a lot of research to get the cheapest flights and usually the cheapest destinations. Flight at 6am is $70 cheaper?, sure I'll take it. I even slept in the Brussels Airport just so I didn't have to pay for accommodation for basically only 4 hours because I had such an early flight. Others might not be so willing to do that. I am also able to choose meals based on what I am willing to pay for it. It's much easier to maintain a food budget traveling by yourself; you can shop at the markets, skip meals, and say no to expensive restaurants.

13) You'll Take More Risks

Carpe Diem! I never thought I'd go snowboarding in my life, but I did with my host in Italy! I got dinner with a complete stranger in Brussels (sorry mom and dad!), but I got free dinner, a new perspective on the world, and made it back to tell the tale ha.

14) You Truly Become a Representative for Your Whole Country

One of the things that I find interesting is what language people attempt to speak to me. Is this just the language they speak or is it what they think I speak? At least in this part of Italy, everyone tries to speak Italian to me. But, I've been told that people here are not used to foreigners, and not many speak English. In Amsterdam, they spoke English to me. In Brussels, most spoke French. But once they realize I do not belong here or speak their language, they ask questions about my country. What do you think about Trump? Your gun policies? How do you not know [insert famous British musician]? In school, did you study European history or just American? Why do Americans like eggs so much? When they have a living American in front of them, they take the opportunity to debunk all the stereotypes and perhaps misconceptions that they see in films and music, etc.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page